Check out our Homewood campus
Take a virtual tour (led by current students!)

student greta

Name: Greta M.

Hometown: Naperville, IL

Anticipated Major(s): Political Science and Environmental Engineering

How did you discover Hopkins and why did you decide to apply Early Decision? I received an email about a Hopkins presentation that was being hosted in my area. I was not very familiar with the school going in, but knew of its strong reputation for academics and success. After the presentation, I found it very difficult to imagine myself going anywhere else for school.

What do you hope to get involved in on campus? I cannot wait to explore all my interests at Hopkins through intramurals, clubs, and music groups! I am currently involved in student government, newspaper, concert and jazz band, choir, running, German club, broadcasting, and campus ministry. I will absolutely continue to pursue these passions of mine, but I am equally as excited to explore new interests! I would like to expand my horizons by trying out research in my areas of study, joining clubs I never even knew existed, and engaging with the city of Baltimore in any way I can.

Complete this sentence: “I would not be here on this journey to Hopkins if it weren’t for ________________.” My school. I attend Benet Academy, a Catholic private school in Lisle with about 330 kids per class. The class of 2019 at Benet contains some of the kindest, smartest, most supportive, and most wonderful people I have ever met. I am surrounded by peers who lift each other up, and we are led by teachers who genuinely wish for our success in all arenas. The day I got into Hopkins, I was met by an overwhelming display of pride and love that I will never forget. The amount of love we have for each other truly is the only reason we can succeed in the classroom and beyond.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years? (dream big!) In 10 years, I hope to have graduated from law school and been practicing for several years as a patent lawyer. I want to have issued several patents by then that have a beneficial impact on as many people as possible. I will also hopefully be involved in the political scene for a while at that point, and maybe even be ready to run for a local or state office myself! I can see myself either moving back to Illinois or staying on the East Coast, but would undoubtedly be happy anywhere. At age 27, I hope to have seen more of the world than the United States. It would also be great to have published some of my writing in a newspaper or book, be it a memoir, article, or novel.