Check out our Homewood campus
Take a virtual tour (led by current students!)

Name: Rishi B.

Hometown: Baltimore County, MD

Anticipated majors: Computer science, mechanical engineering, and a minor in music performance

How did you discover Hopkins and why did you decide to apply? I had known about Hopkins University since I was little, but my true introduction came when working with one of the graduate faculty, Dr. Peter Kazanzides, on a robotics Capstone project for my senior year of high school. His expertise on the topic was helpful, and the connection I formed with him made me hopeful that I could form meaningful relationships with JHU students and staff alike.

If you could teach one class at Hopkins, what would it be? Perspective 101: Learning to look at situations in our lives from many angles.

How has your family background or life experiences shaped you? My family in India is spread out, but well-connected. I have family members in several different cities but each one is equally welcoming whenever I visit, and the largest portion of my family lives together in a group that is three or four generations strong. They have taught me the importance of forming a strong community for one’s support, and they inspire me to form my own community when I come to Hopkins.

What do you hope to get involved in on campus? I hope to get involved with the Jail Tutorial Project at Hopkins. I have loved tutoring ever since I started doing it as a requirement for my high school’s NHS chapter. Being able to apply my teaching skills to give jail inmates the second chance they need would mean the world to me.