To support safety and public health during the Covid-19 pandemic, all on-campus events are canceled until further notice.
FAQ

Name: Laekhram S.

Hometown: North Haven

Anticipated Majors: Neuroscience

How did you discover Hopkins and why did you decide to apply Early Decision? After talking to the fencing coach in the summer I decided to visit the school, and instantly fell in love. The beautiful campus, extensive research opportunities, vibrant on-campus and off-campus life, and the welcoming staff have all contributed to me applying Early Decision.

Who is the most influential person in your life and why? My mother. A foreigner, she built her life, career, and our family from nothing. My mother has taught me that no matter what you have, your effort and determination will lead you to success. She has taught me to appreciate the gifts that life presents, and the hardships you suffer through to improve yourself.

If you could teach one class at Hopkins, what would it be? (already exists or invented by you!) Loving to learn, learning to love: the value of education and how to appreciate what you have, and use that to further yourself.

How has your family background or life experiences shaped you? My mother raised me and my sister by herself for the majority of our lives. She immigrated from Guyana, a small South American country. Coming to America forced my mother to face a new culture, while struggling to maintain her own. While struggling with her own familial obligations and expectations she was still able to succeed, which has encouraged me to work hard with all the opportunities that my mother has worked to give me. This has made me gracious for what I have, and appreciative of hard work.

What’s your best piece of college search advice for high school students? Don’t stress about the process. You will find somewhere you love. Work hard, don’t take standardized tests or college essays for granted.

What are you most excited for about college and/or coming to Hopkins? I am very excited to spend my time learning Baltimore, fencing, and studying for my dream career.