In a precautionary response to recent public health concerns around COVID-19, all events through at least July 31st are canceled.
COVID-19 UPDATES

Name: Maureen C.

Hometown: Las Vegas, NV

Anticipated Majors: Medicine, Science & the Humanities and Biology

How did you discover Hopkins and why did you decide to apply? I’ve always wanted to be a pediatrician and I knew medical school was in my future, so during my freshman year, I had looked up the best medical schools in the country as well as the qualifications that I needed to fit. I saw Johns Hopkins and it became my dream school. I had applied because it had been where I imagined I would go for so long that I had to at least attempt to get in.

What do you hope to get involved in on campus? Some sort of dance, BSU, student government, volunteering.

How has your family background or life experiences shaped you? My parents are both immigrants who have worked hard for everything they’ve earned. They have taught me and my brother the value of perseverance, patience, and compassion. They also have emphasized treating others the way you want to be treated.

What book, album/song, or TV show has had a profound influence on your life? “Broken Clocks” by SZA; It has shown me to not just focus on the future, but value the time and the youth you have now

What are you most excited for about college and/or coming to Hopkins? I’m most excited to live on the East Coast! I have only lived in the Southwest (California and Nevada) and I would like to experience a truly cold winter and learn the culture of an area I have only visited.

What is the accomplishment you’re most proud of? (big or small!) I’m most proud of an accomplishment that hasn’t happened yet. I’ve been in the EMS program at my school for the last four years and after April 29th, I will be able to take my NREMT test to (hopefully) become an emergency medical technician. While it hasn’t happened yet, I am proud of the information I’ve learned and the work I’ve put in to the class.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years? (dream big!) I would be in my residency as a pediatric oncologist (or maybe a different specialty) with minimal debt, living in a nice apartment in a beautiful area, hopefully with a partner. Maybe have one dog.