To support safety and public health during the Covid-19 pandemic, all on-campus events are canceled until further notice.
FAQ

Name: Pilar P.

Hometown: Lafayette, Louisiana

Anticipated Majors: Medicine, Science, and the Humanities; Behavioral Biology; and a minor in Spanish

How did you discover Hopkins and why did you decide to apply Early Decision? I had gotten a ton of emails and pamphlets from JHU, but never really thought it was for me. Then I learned about the HOME program and decided to apply and see what happened. I got to experience JHU through the HOME program, learning about all the resources JHU had to offer and the different personalities and backgrounds that make up Hopkins’ culture. I liked all the help JHU offered in making my goals both attainable and enjoyable, as well as the many outstanding people I got to meet over the few days I had spent at JHU (the Baltimore sights I got to experience were just icing on the cake). The unique experiences I was lucky to have through the HOME program were the main driving force behind my decision to apply Early Decision.

Who is the most influential person in your life and why? My mom. She has always pushed for me and my sister to dream big, that if we put the work in we can achieve anything. Because of her, I rarely see a limit to what I can do or how much effort I can give. My mother had instilled in me the belief that you get out what you put in, and I stand by that sentiment wholeheartedly.

What do you hope to get involved in on campus? I hope to get involved singing groups, because music is a blessing and should be experienced by as many people as possible, and maybe look into culture clubs, outdoor experiences, and maybe Greek life.

What’s your best piece of college search advice for high school students? Visit as many colleges you are interested in as you possibly can. Get a feel of the campus, of the students and faculty, and listen to your gut. Don’t choose a college just because of its name or prestige, choose it because it has the right environment and atmosphere you see yourself thriving in.

What is the accomplishment you’re most proud of? (big or small!) Being the lowest singing alto in my choir (I love hitting them low notes!).

If you could get ice cream with one person (real or imaginary; dead or alive), who would it be and what kind of ice cream would you get? I would get ice cream with Sherlock Holmes and I would get peanut butter ice cream with Reese’s (pieces and crumbles), Butterfingers, and Circus Animal crackers.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years? (dream big!) I see myself in my early years of medical residency in whatever specialty I choose by that time, hopefully with a growing family, and all the pets I could possibly sustain (a cat, a bird or two, a rabbit, some ferrets, and a poodle). I hope to have a large, ever expanding library and I hope I playas many D&D games as I can with all the friends I have made along the way.