To support safety and public health during the Covid-19 pandemic, all on-campus events are canceled until further notice.
FAQ

Name: Allison J.

Hometown: Soul, South Korea

Anticipated Major(s): Behavioral Biology

How did you discover Hopkins and why did you decide to apply ED? I knew Hopkins for a long time, as it is an all-time famous research university. I visited Hopkins during the summer before my junior year of high school and fell in love, thinking it would be a wonderful environment to pursue my studies. I am someone who loves exploring my intellectual curiosities, to extend my thoughts to things that seem very obscure or even bizarre. As a top research university, the support and endless research opportunities that Hopkins provides students was a factor that appealed to me to apply as ED.

Who is the most influential person in your life and why? My parents! (It is very difficult to choose one) They always support my choices and influenced me to value happiness in life.

What are you most excited to do in Baltimore? Eat and explore! I heard the food there is wonderful and there is already someone who is eager to take me to all the best places in Baltimore. 🙂

What do you hope to get involved in on campus? I would love to get involved with theater and art-related activities on campus. During my years in middle school and high school, I was always an active member of design teams and I also participated in school productions every year as an actress, dancer, and tech.

What’s your best piece of college search advice for high school students? Look into different colleges, find the one that fits you the most. Don’t choose a college because of its superficial values that would impress others but choose a college that impresses you.

What are you most excited for about college and/or coming to Hopkins? I am most excited about getting to know more people and learning new things. I consider going to college as starting a new phase of my life, being in a new environment with new challenges. College will let me grow and mature, and also learn more about myself through the valuable experiences I will get to have for the next 4 years.