To support safety and public health during the Covid-19 pandemic, all on-campus events are canceled until further notice.
FAQ

Name: Isabella G.

Hometown: Penn Valley, PA

Anticipated Major(s): Neuroscience

Anticipated Minor(s): Business

How did you discover Hopkins and why did you decide to apply ED? Throughout high school I’ve read several scientific articles written by people at Hopkins. After visiting last year I was amazed by the campus as well as the social and academic lifestyle! Making the decision to apply ED was easy because the challenging academic environment is what I believe will allow me to thrive.

How has your family background or life experiences shaped you? Both of my parents are immigrants from an island off the coast of Madagascar called Mauritius. I’ve met most of my extended relatives only once in my entire life since everyone except one of my uncles lives in Mauritius. Throughout most of my education my parents couldn’t really help me academically because the education system/teaching style is different in Mauritius. I believe that this caused me to be much more independent as well as self-motivated. While it was difficult at times I made it work, and am proud of what I have accomplished thus far.

What are you most excited for about college and/or coming to Hopkins? I am extremely excited to learn about my interests specifically. I meticulously chose neuroscience as my major after taking a class over the summer which touched on the brain as well as psychology. Taking classes geared towards my interests is so exciting because I’m in control of what I learn now.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years? (dream big!) In 10 years I hope to be a doctor! Since I was young I’ve always wanted to be a doctor because of the actual medicine part, but also for the close interactions with different patients.