To support safety and public health during the Covid-19 pandemic, all on-campus events are canceled until further notice.
FAQ

Name: Jocelyn F.

Hometown: Lafayette Hill, PA

Anticipated Major(s): Environmental Science

How did you discover Hopkins and why did you decide to apply ED? I have always been interested in public health so I decided to visit campus last February. The moment I stepped onto the Homewood campus I knew this was the place where I needed to be; I was surrounded by fellow students who were passionate about social justice, science, research, and entrepreneurship. I still can’t believe that I get to spend the next four years in Baltimore at a college that I have dreamed about. I did, in fact, cry when I got in and December 11 will always live in my mind as one of the best days of my life.

What’s your best piece of college search advice for high school students? My biggest piece of advice is that you shouldn’t waste any moment in high school doing an activity you believe will be good to get into college. I know people who sincerely regret this. I, myself, am extremely interested in fashion but could never see a career in it. When I was chosen to be a teen intern at Nordstrom, I knew it would be an activity that would take away time from doing clubs that would be “more impressive to college.” You’re always going to be a unique applicant and deserve to enjoy high school on your own accord, not trying to impress someone! I was even able to combine my love for fashion and social justice by putting on a fashion show three years in a row and donating of the profits to CHOP.

What are you most excited for about college and/or coming to Hopkins? I am SO EXCITED to meet new people and get used to dorm life with my amazing roommate @yagmuroozturk. I am also so excited to figure out exactly what I want to do with my life.

What is the accomplishment you’re most proud of? (big or small!) I am most proud of the non profit I founded, Jewelry for Justice. I was on a run last May and had a crazy idea to create my own jewelry brand where every piece would be handmade by teen volunteers. Today, we’ve shipped to four countries and all across the US, donated $2,000 to worthy charities, and received huge grants from a philanthropist in San Francisco 🙂

Complete this sentence: “I would not be here on this journey to Hopkins if it weren’t for _____________ (person/place/thing/experience/etc.).” My incredible crew coach Mr. Mac who taught me that even if you start at the bottom, you have to believe in yourself (and miracles of course). He pushed me to always be the best version of myself and that, as cliche as it seems, you have to reach for the stars because as long as you work hard, nothings impossible.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years? (dream big!) I see myself opening my own veterinary clinic in New York City 🙂