To support safety and public health during the Covid-19 pandemic, all on-campus events are canceled until further notice.
FAQ

Name: Sherry G.

Hometown: Hangzhou, China

Anticipated Major(s): Undecided

How did you discover Hopkins and why did you decide to apply ED? Some of my friends went to Hopkins. Since the epidemic outbreak, I have always been paying attention to Hopkins’ dedication in the counseling, statistics, and mapping of global coronavirus cases. Hopkins upholds not only spirits of scientific innovation, but also strong social responsibility, which strongly attracts me to pursue my goal here.

If you could teach one class at Hopkins, what would it be? (already exists or invented by you!) I’d like to teach fashion class. Though I’m not professional, I love to share my ideas and daily outfits.

Is there a quote or motto that inspires you? What is it and what does it mean to you? “The nitrogen in our DNA, the calcium in our teeth, the iron in our blood, the carbon in our apple pies were made in the interiors of collapsing stars. We are made of starstuff.” It’s romantic and always reminding me how related we are.

What are you most excited to do in Baltimore? I’m excited to visit Inner Harbor, explore good restaurants and have Maryland crabs.

What do you hope to get involved in on campus? I hope to join tennis and table tennis club.

What crazy invention would you love to design? I want to design a machine that can separate human body and brain so our body can have fun outside while our brain is studying at home.

What fictional character do you most relate to or most closely represents you as a person? Maruko in the Japanese anime Chibi Maruko Chan.

What are you most excited for about college and/or coming to Hopkins? I’m excited to meet new friends and world-class professors at Hopkins.

What is the accomplishment you’re most proud of? (big or small!) I hiked 81km in the Gobi Desert for four days when I was 13.

If you could get ice cream with one person (real or imaginary; dead or alive), who would it be and what kind of ice cream would you get? I would have vanilla brownie ice cream with my 11-year-old sister.