To support safety and public health during the Covid-19 pandemic, all on-campus events are canceled until further notice.
FAQ

Name: Siyona M.

Hometown: Orlando, FL

Major(s): Neuroscience and/or Molecular & Cellular Biology

How did you discover Hopkins and why did you decide to apply ED? I’ve always known that I wanted to pursue research, specifically in the field of biology and I found that Hopkins was one of the best both in terms of the breadth of opportunities as well as quality. I researched more about Hopkins and after learning more about the supportive community, it became my first choice.

Is there a quote or motto that inspires you? What is it and what does it mean to you? I’ve always lived by the phrase “don’t shake it until you’ve tried it” and I’d like to carry forward that sort of thinking into the future and especially in college. I like to try out many different things since there isn’t really any way of knowing whether I’ll like it or not until I’ve actually tried it at least once or twice.

What are you most excited to do in Baltimore? I’m most excited to explore the culture and food in Baltimore, especially near the water. I’ve heard a lot of things about Old Bay!

What do you hope to get involved in on campus? On campus, I’d love to be a part of a research team but I also want to continue learning taekwondo and maybe even join some food based clubs. I’d like to continue teaching students in the local area once in-person meetings are.

What’s your best piece of college search advice for high school students? My best piece of advice would be to first figure out what you want in a college and then search and not the other way around and to start early so that when deadlines do come around, you won’t be too stressed.

What are you most excited for about college and/or coming to Hopkins? I’m most excited about meeting new people and exploring a new area since I’ve mostly lived in the same place. I can’t wait explore all of the opportunities in terms of classes and research as well once I’m on campus. One thing that I really liked about Hopkins was that there wasn’t any core curriculum so I can take classes in areas that really interest me.

What is the accomplishment you’re most proud of? (big or small!) I’m most proud of starting my own coaching program for spelling and maintaining it through the years and that I’ve been able to help my students achieve their goals. I’ve had a lot of fun and gained a lot of experience working with so many unique students.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years? (dream big!) In 10 years, I see myself as a practicing doctor that also is doing research, perhaps even with my own lab. While I’m not yet absolutely sure which field of medicine I want to go into, my goal is to be able to contribute something significant to whichever specialty I choose.